Fact, Opinion and Annoyance


God’s Ordained Servant?
November 30, 2008, 6:53 am
Filed under: Politics | Tags: ,

Barack Obama:  God’s Choice?

I seem to recall the Isrealites begging for a king.  God wanted to be their King, but they wanted a human man to rule them like all the nations around them.  So God gave them King Saul.  Was it God’s ordained will for His people?  Not according to Scripture.  Did God use it to bring about His will in His people?  Yes, because He is a gracious God and uses that which was meant for evil and turns it into good.

So do I think God has appointed Barack Obama our President because it fulfills His will?  Personally, I think it’s hard to say.  I do not presume to speak for God, except for quoting His Word.  But I am also reminded of God sending the Isrealites into captivity in Babylon and Assyria.  They had fallen away from Him and so He placed them in captivity.  Their desire for freedom drew them (well, some of them) back to God.  And so while God did not desire for His people to be slaves or captives, it served His greater purpose of having a relationship with His people, who had deserted Him.

I can honestly say that I prayed about who I should vote for.  I struggled because it did not seem that either candidate fit with my convictions on moral standards or political philosophy.  In the end, I didn’t vote for either of them.  And I felt peace about that.  And I still do.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

