Fact, Opinion and Annoyance


A Return to Childlike Faith
January 3, 2009, 10:54 am
Filed under: Christianity | Tags: ,

“Then they brought little children to Him, that He might touch them; but the disciples rebuked those who brought them. But when Jesus saw it, He was greatly displeased and said to them, “Let the little children come to Me, and do not forbid them; for of such is the kingdom of God. Assuredly, I say to you, whoever does not receive the kingdom of God as a little child will by no means enter it.” And He took them up in His arms, laid His hands on them, and blessed them. Mark 10:13-16 (NKJV)

It’s been a crazy year. No, scratch that, it’s been a crazy life. But I find myself peaceful and hopeful about the future. Certainly not because of anything on the surface of life, like the election or the economy, but because of a belief bordering on absolute assurance that God is taking care of me and my loved ones.

So much of the character of God has come alive to me since having my children. Certainly when I was a child I lacked the maturity to understand the profound. And then I was a teenager and a young adult and I knew that I knew everything (a different, more dangerous sort of immaturity). Now as a (potential) grown-up, with children of my own, I have a great appreciation for a God who loves us and cares for us, but feels no need to explain the heights and depths of Himself and His creation.

While I attempt to explain life honestly to my children, sometimes it is just to complicated or scary for them to grasp. So I try to explain things on their level, which at times is moderately successful and at other times a complete disaster. Certainly God is much better at explaining things at our human level than I am but I am also certainly much better at confusing the issues from my side of things. And how is that God’s fault?

I spent a lot of time contemplating things like the problem of pain, the problem of evil, calvinism vs. armenianism, and a lot of other human attempts to explain divine issues. For a while, I felt like I needed to find THE answer, the incontrovertible one that no one could dispute.  I have found that in as much as it exists, that answer is the Bible.  However, we live in a world where one can simply argue, “The Bible is just a book of fairy tales.”  So much for THE answer.

I am now so convinced of the Truth of the Bible and it’s absolute ability of convey the character and desires of the one almighty God that I no longer feel the need to understand everything.  Like my children I ask questions, but when the answer is not immediately forthcoming or doesn’t seem to make sense I don’t feel the need to explain to God how He should be explaining things to me.  I am content to rest in my faith and trust that I will understand someday “when I’m all grown up” – existing forever in His glorious presence, where I’m sure that all of my profound questions will appear quite trivial.

In the meantime, I still find theology and philosophy to be interesting academic subjects.  But I no longer expect them to supply me with the answers I’m searching for and I’m finished with being so busy trying to “understand” God that I don’t take the time to just visit with Him in prayer and His word, so He can explain Himself.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

