Fact, Opinion and Annoyance


Taxes 2009
January 20, 2009, 9:35 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: ,

Now that all the necessary documents have arrived (W-2, mortgage interest statement, etc.) we had the pleasure of doing our taxes.  We use Turbo-Tax (which is great, by the way, and they’re not even paying me to say that!) and we found that between the federal and state government – they withheld 10% more of our income than they should have.  Not 10% more in taxes than we should have paid, but 10% more of our total income!  There’s even a neat little graph showing your tax history and it shows that the government withheld a lot more in 2008 than in previous years.  And now that California says they can’t afford to give refunds, you’d better believe we’re getting our money back and quick, before some bureaucrat decides he knows how to spend our money better than we do.

What really gets me is how people say it’s good for the government to take too much and give it back to you, because otherwise you’d just piddle it away.  But we’re talking about hundreds of dollars a month here.  Think how much interest I could have saved on my debt!  Think about the debt I might not have incurred if I had all of my income to work with!  But I guess it’s my responsibility to help out the banks in their time of need and contribute to the economic stimulus.  And as I’m currently reading Atlas Shrugged by Ayn Rand, the whole thing is getting pretty scary.  I know the woman didn’t believe in God, but did she believe she was a prophet?

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

