Fact, Opinion and Annoyance


Is it worth it?
February 5, 2009, 1:00 pm
Filed under: Homeschooling, Science | Tags:

The Great College Hoax

I was the first member of my family to attend a four-year college and earn a Bachelor’s Degree (in Biochemistry).  However, I learned more about my actual job as a lab technician from the two summers I worked in high school in a lab then I did in four years of college (and I got paid for it instead of forking out $50,000).  I have met so many intelligent, self-taught people that get stuck in dead-end jobs because they haven’t paid for the privilege of a piece of paper.  And I have met way too many people who went to college (and in some cases, graduate school) and are completely useless.  And now that’s I’m homeschooling my kids, I have a great appreciation for the idea that education is not just a route to monetary success, but a way of life.

Ergo, I think I’ll encourage my kids to skip college.  Besides, at the current rate of inflation, the college I attended will cost over $50,000 a year.  And I can’t honestly say that based on my experience or the experience of others that it’s worth it.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

My daughter is 28. She served 6 years in the military. She received an excellent medical education while in the service. She is now a civilian in a supervisory position in a hospital and makes an excellent salary. In high school she came to me and said,”Why should I have to pay off school loans for the rest of my life? I’m going in the service and they are going to pay me to be in the service, they will pay for my clothing, my housing, my meals, and they will train me while they pay me.” She enlisted in the AF and that is exactly what happened. Say what you like about the military but they certainly are the top of the heap when it comes to knowing how to educate people. And yes, she served in a field hospital emergency room in Iraq where she was on call 24/7 for 4 months as the only X-ray tech on the base. So she’s paid her tuition. The military is just one of the other ways to get an education besides entering a life time of financial bondage for a mediocre education.

Comment by Resident Apt 1




Leave a Reply

